Skip to main content

Howe girls, Spiro boys champions of County Tournament; Howe's Hillebrand, Spiro's Perry named Most Valuable Players

January 24, 2012

HOWE MARVELOUS! — The Howe Lady Lions defeated the Talihina Lady Golden Tigers in the finals of the 2012 LeFlore County Tournament Saturday night at the Spiro Gym in the lowest-scoring girls' title game since 1977. PDN Staff Photo by David Seeley

SPIRO — The Howe Lady Lions and the Spiro Bulldogs took home the championships of the 80th LeFlore County Tournament Saturday night at the Spiro Gym.
The Lady Lions defeated the Talihina Lady Golden Tigers 31-27 in the lowest-scoring girls championship game since 1977 when Leflore defeated Spiro 27-20.
The Bulldogs got past the Poteau Pirates 51-43 to claim the boys championship.
The ’Cats claimed third place with a come-from-behind 47-42 victory over the Wolves Saturday afternoon after the Spiro Lady Bulldogs posted a 41-32 victory over the Bokoshe Lady Tigers.
— — —
All-Tournament Teams
Most Valuable Player — Brianna Hillebrand, Howe
Kaitlan Standridge, Poteau
Bennye Torpe, Arkoma
Amber Holt, Heavener
Megan Brown, Howe
Abigail McGarrah, Howe
Philicea Mack, Spiro
Krissy Houston, Talihina
Tara Hawkins, Talihina
Clara Brown, Wister
Jayla Roath, Wister.
Dennis Hemphill Award — Jordan Kannady, Heavener.
Sportsmanship Team Award — Whitesboro Lady Bulldogs.
Most Valuable Player — Devon Perry, Spiro.
Wilson Klutts, Poteau
Marshall Jones, Poteau
Blake Williams, Poteau
Ryan Carter, Cameron
Jared Brown, Howe
Dakota Watson, Leflore
Grant Severe, Pocola
Knifeis Carter, Spiro
Jermaine Jimmerson, Spiro
Tyler Gibson, Wister.
Billy Brake Award — Logan Warren, Wister.
Sportsmanship Team Award — Howe Lions.

View more articles in:

Classified Ads

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes