Skip to main content

Poteau coach, QB named District 4A-4's Coach, Player of the Year for ’13; Pirate trio earn top individual honors; 12 seniors total make all-district team

December 27, 2013

When a football team plays for a state title, and wins its district along the way, that team usually has several honors come its players' way. The Poteau Pirates footbal team has that distinct honor in 2013.
After the Pirates went 12-2, won District 4A-4 and were state runners-up, 12 players and their coach were honored by the district.
Poteau second-year coach Greg Werner was named the District Coach of the Year.
Senior quarterback Jace Pitchford was named the District Player of the Year. Pitchford rushed for 1,179 yard and 13 touchdowns, while passing for 1,441 yards and 22 TDs.
Three other seniors were given top individual honors. Jarrett Lowrimore was named the Receiver of the Year, Kendrick Hardaway the Defensive Back of the Year and Carlos Aguilar shared the Inside Linebacker of the Year award with Broken Bow's Dillon Leffel and Stilwell's Greg Benham.
Eight other seniors made the All-District 4A-4 Team, linebackers Kaydon Evans and Cord Lawrence, defensive linemen Mason Jones and Stephen Smith, defensive back Devin Anderson and linemen Jesse Gollihare, Michael Didway and Jace Akins.

View more articles in:


Classified Ads

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes