Skip to main content

Poteau Wrestling Club members win titles, place in own tournament; Talihina Wrestling Club athlete crowned champion

November 18, 2011

MAGNIFICENT MATMEN — Here are the top four placers in the 100-pound class in Division IV, from left, Ross Johnson (first), Rae Hendrix (second), Hannah Million (third) and Timothy Rankins (fourth), all from Poteau. Every photo the Poteau Youth Wrestling Club submitted will be in our Photo Gallery by the weekend on our Website at Photo by Beth Lilley/Poteau Youth Wrestling Club.

Several Poteau Youth Wrestling Club members either won or placed in their respective divisions at Saturday's Poteau Tournament at Sherman Floyd Fieldhouse.
In fact, one weight class was a clean sweep for Poteau as at 100 pounds in Division IV, Ross Johnson was the champion, Rae Hendrix was runner-up, Hannah Million was third and Timothy Rankins was fourth.
One more weight class was a LeFlore County sweep. At heavyweight in Division IV, Poteau's Drake Barbee took first place, followed by teammates Jarrod Vineyard in second and Wyatt Sharp in third. Talihina Wrestling Club's Parker Judkins was fourth.
Besides Johnson and Barbee, several other Poteau Youth Wrestling Club athletes took home championships. In Division I, Gavin Morgan (46 pounds), Blake Dedmon (52), Dax Collins (55) and Luke Brooks (heavyweight) won their respective weight class titles.
Landon Thornburg (55 pounds), Zane Hendrix (61) and Grant Ford (heavyweight) won championships in Division II.
In Division III, Landon Thornburg (55 pounds), Zane Hendrix (61) and Justin Neff (120) came out on top in their respective weight classes.
Bryson Terry (76 pounds), Race Williams (84) and Jarrett Lilley (92) brought home titles in Division IV.
In Division V, Doncurian Jones (78 pounds) and Tanner Sanders (152) won titles.
Talihina Wrestling Club's Roderick Hornbuckle won the 118-pound title in Division V, followed by Poteau's Elias Cloud in second and Talihina's Marty Carter was third.
Besides Rae Hendrix, Vineyard and Cloud, several other Poteau Wrestling Club members were second. In Division I, Mason Francis (49 pounds) and Remington Reed (52) were second.
Colby Thornburg (52 pounds), Brooks (67) and James Moss (heavyweight) took second place in Division II.
In Division III, Ethan Carey (61 pounds), Dauntay Warren (76), Alex Ellis (90), Seth Ford (120) and Creed Smith (heavyweight) all had second-place finishes.
Allison Hartley (92 pounds) in Division IV and Brandon Hartley (110 pounds) in Division V were second.
Besides Million and Sharp, there were other third-place finishers for the Poteau Youth Wrestling Club. In Division I, Kason Terry (46 pounds) and David Stoughton (49) were third, while Ashley Broom (52), Zachary Dotson (67) and Blaze Rodriguez (83) were third in Division II competition.
Kadin Repass (76 pounds) and Ty Hickman (100) were third in Division III.
Talihina Wrestling Club's Derek Lester (110 pounds) and Zach Himes (152) were third in Division V.
Several Poteau members joined Rankins with fourth-place medals. In Division I, Ethan Thornburg (40 pounds), Colby Thornburg (49) and Calloway Warren (52) were fourth.
In Division II, Caden Warren (61 pounds) and Zachery Broom (67) were fourth, while Riley Rosenberg (85) and Parker Killion (heavyweight) came in fourth in Division III competition.
In Division IV, Tyler Broom (76 pounds) was fourth for Poteau, while Talihina Wrestling Club's Ryan Lester (92) was also fourth in the same division.
All total, there were eight organizations represented in Saturday's event. Joining the Poteau Youth Wrestling Club and the Talihina Wrestling Club were the Vian Wolverine Wrestling Club, the Sallisaw Takedown Club, the Morris Eagles Wrestling Club, the Springdale (Ark.) Wrestling Club, the Fayetteville (Ark.) Youth Wrestling Club and the Warthawg Wrestling Club from Fort Smith, Ark.

View more articles in:

Classified Ads

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes