Candidates, voters prepare for upcoming election

Early voting in Oklahoma’s statewide primary election closed Saturday [June 21] and candidates are ramping up their campaigns in preparation of tomorrow's [June 24] day at the polls.Polling places throughout the county will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday.LeFlore County Democrats will vote in at least four races — county assessor, state superintendent of public instruction, U.S. senator (to fill Tom Coburn’s unexpired term), and District 2 U.S. representative. In parts of the county, Democrats also will vote for District 3 county commissioner and District 1 state representative.Because no Republicans filed for the two county offices, those contests will be settled Tuesday unless a runoff is required in the assessor’s race.Republicans will vote for seven offices — governor, superintendent of public instruction, insurance commissioner, corporation commissioner, U.S. senator, U.S. senator (unexpired term) and District 2 U.S. representative.The only non-partisan issue is a $170,000 bond issue for McCurtain Public School. The school is in Haskell County but part of the school district lies in LeFlore County any only voters in that district will cast ballots.