New football districts announced by OSSAA

Here's the news you all have been waiting for, at least if you're high school football fans.The Oklahoma Secondary Schools Activities Association announced earlier this week the new high school football districts for the 2014 and 2015 seasons.There's some major changes in some, and not-so-many changes in others.For the Poteau Pirates, their District 4A-4 stays the same — Poteau, Broken Bow, Fort Gibson, Muldrow, Sallisaw and Stilwell — except with reference to the Tulsa schools. Tulsa Central is dropping down from Class 5A to join the district, while Tulsa Metro Christian is moving up from Class 3A to do the same. Tulsa Cascia Hall is moving to District 4A-3 with Catoosa, Cleveland, Tulsa McLain/TSST, Miami, Oologah, Vinita and Wagoner, while Tulsa Rogers is dropping down to Class 3A.Speaking of Class 3A, District 3A-8 for Heavener and Spiro will pretty much stay the same as Eufaula, Idabel, Roland, Stigler and Valliant remain. Checotah is moving over to District 3A-6 with Beggs, Hilldale, Morris, Okmulgee, Tulsa Rogers and Tulsa Victory Christian.District 2A-6 also will be almost identical as Panama and Pocola will still be joined by Antlers, Hartshorne, Vian and Wilburton. However, Hugo is moving to District 2A-4 and being replaced by Liberty, which is moving up from Class A.Speaking of Class A, District A-6 will have quite a different look to it as Talihina won't have Canadian and Haileyville as district foes as they're dropping down to Class B and becoming 8-man teams. Staying in the district with Talihina from the last two years will be Gore, Quinton, Sallisaw-Central and Savanna. Replacing Canadian and Haileyville are Porter Consolidated and Warner, both of which are moving over from District A-8.As for Canadian and Haileyville, they will become new district foes for the Arkoma Mustangs, who are moving up from Class C to Class B. Arkoma, Canadian and Haileyville will be in District B-4 with Caddo, Dewar, Gans, Keota, Porum, Weleetka and Wetumka. This 10-team district will mean each of these teams will play just one non-district game, unlike Arkoma has been doing as the Mustangs usually have two non-district games each year.Bokoshe will remain in District C-4 along with Midway, Sasakwa, Thackerville and Webbers Falls. Replacing Arkoma, Maud, which also is moving up to Class B, and Southwest Covenant, which is moving to District C-2, will be Bowlegs, Cave Springs, Fox and Paoli.