Poteau football duo get special honors from 4A-4; all total, 12 players make All-District Team

The Poteau Pirates had a winning football season in 2012, and were in the playoff hunt until Week 9 โ€” and were perhaps the surprise team of District 4A-4. All of that did not go unnoticed when the All-District 4A-4 Team was named.Two Pirates got special individual honors, and a total of 12 players made the All-District Team.Jay Werner was named the Special Teams Player of the Year, while Trevor Shankle was the Offensive Lineman of the Year.Ten other players made the team. On offense, Michael Reynolds (fullback), Logan Hildebrand (center), Troy Barnett (guard), Devin Thompson (guard) and Dylan Stone (tight end) made the team.Blake Johnson (safety), Tyler Tustin (cornerback), Dylan Gregory (defensive tackle), Derek Francis (defensive end) and Zack Hall (defensive end) made the team.Editor's note โ€” There will be more all-district team stories later this month as soon as space allows โ€” and the information gets received on the other all-district teams. Information that is still needed are on the all-district teams for District 3A-8, District 2A-6 and District A-6. Information may be e-mailed to sports@poteaudailynews.com or faxed to (918) 647-8198.